How to Change the My Music folder on right hand side of Vista or XP start menu to any other folder

OK, I haven’t been posted in a LONG time, and I’m back to share something which I think more people should know about. I’ve been trying to customize my Vista installation to work for me whenever I have the time to do so ever since I decided to use it as my main OS. Truly, Windows would benefit from being more customizable, and one of the main things people want to change is the shortcuts on the right hand side of the start menu. While there’s no option within the OS to do this, it can be accomplished through modifying the registry.

Some very nice people at WinVistaClub have written a VBScript which modifies the “My Music” folder shortcut in the start menu to another folder of your choosing. It even updates the icon shown at the top of the start menu when you mouse over! Here’s the link and instructions. I’ve also attached that script here just in case that link goes down (That’s actually a .vbs file. WordPress won’t let me upload that filetype, so make you choose “save link as…” and change its extension to .vbs before executing it).

Hope this helps someone!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

